Cabinet meeting summary for April 9 | Loop Cayman Islands

The content originally appeared on: Cayman Compass

1 hrs ago

According to the recent Cabinet post meeting summary, His Excellency the Governor Mr. Martyn Roper, OBE, chaired the meeting of the Cabinet held on Tuesday, April 5, 2022 in the Cabinet Conference Room, Government Administration Building. All Ministers and Members of Cabinet were present with the exception of the Hon Kenneth Bryan, in which case, Parliamentary Secretary, Dwayne Seymour acted as Temporary Minister for Tourism and Transport.

At this meeting Cabinet, the Cabinet took the following actions:

confirmed approval granted by circulation on 25th March 2022 for guideline to designate a healthcare facility as a facility and publication of the guideline in the gazetteapproved the following re-appointments to the Energy Policy Council; President or designate of Caribbean Utilities Company; Executive Director of Energy and Utilities or designate of Utility Regulation and Competition Office; Director or designate of Department of Environment; General Manager or designate of Cayman Brac Power and Light; Andrew Small; and Alan Neesomeapproved in accordance with Section 39(2) of the Public Authorities Act 2020 to exempt Statutory Authorities and Government Companies from paying over to Core Government, surplus cash reserves as at 31st December 2021approved in accordance with Section 12 of the Public Management and Finance Act (2020 Revision) the reallocation of $10.35 million ($5.35 million in 2022 and $5 million in 2023) for the Ministry of Finance and Economic Developmentapproved the appointment of Joel Francis as the Minister of Education’s representative on the Board of Governors of the University College of the Cayman Islandsapproved the tabling of the University College of the Cayman Islands Board of Governors Annual Report and Financial Statements for the year ended 31st December 2020 in Parliamentapproved in accordance with Section 9(5) of the Public Management and Finance Act (2020 Revision) the transfer of appropriations totalling $500,000 for the Department of Lands and Surveyadvised His Excellency the Governor to approve the lease of Crown Land Block 67A Parcel 25REM1 to the Cayman Hot Rod Associationapproved the issuance of drafting instructions to modernize the Veterinary Act (1997 Revision)approved the appointment of the following additional members to the Review Committee of the Development and Planning Act; Ted Ebanks, Adrian Bodden, Chamber of Commerce President or designate, Chairman of the CPA or designate, Director of Planning or designate, National Trust Chair or designate and Chief Officer of the Ministry of District Administration and Lands or designate;approved proceeding with delivery of the Integrated Solid Waste Management System through Public Private Partnership; finalising negotiations related to the Project Agreement and the extension of the Financial Close and Long-stop datesapproved the issuance of drafting instructions to amend the Immigration (Transition) Act to clarify Cabinet’s ability to apply conditions as it sees fit when granting an exemption under Section 53(1)(b) of the Actapproved the re-appointment of Dr. Dax Basdeo as a Member to the Board of Directors of the Cayman Islands Monetary Authorityapproved the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority (CIMA) to commission commemorative coins for CIMA’s 25th Anniversary and Her Majesty’s Platinum Jubileeapproved the publication of a Section 6 notice under the Roads Act (2005 Revision) authorising the National Roads Authority and its contractors to enter lands as depicted by Boundary Plan 588 known as the Airport Connector Roaapproved the appointment of the following persons to the Traffic Review Committee: Ministry Designate, Charles Brown – Chair; Ministry/Agency Representative, Jason Azan – Deputy Chair;Cayman Islands Insurance Association Representative; Industry/Stakeholder Representative, Burmon Scott, Industry/Stakeholder Representative, Collin Redden; RCIPS Representative, Commissioner or designate; NRA Representative, Director or designate, Judicial, Chief Officer or designate; Legal, Chief Officer of designate; DVDL, Director or designate; Ministry of Tourism and [Public] Transport, Chief Officer or designate; Stakeholder, Candace Rankin and Stakeholder, John Millerapproved the Control of Covid-19 (Travel) (No.2) Regulations, 2022Noted the Compliance Report from WORC regarding administrative fines and levies for 2019-2021

Related Articles

More From